Indira Gandhi Planetarium, Lucknow Veer Bahadur Singh Planetarium, Gorakhpur        Aryabhatt Planetarium, Rampur


Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun; the third-largest and fourth most massive planet in the Solar System. It is almost similar in composition to Neptune. Uranus has a ring system and numerous moons. The Uranian system has a unique configuration among the planets because its axis of rotation is tilted sideways, nearly into the plane of its revolution about the Sun. Time period of rotation at its own axis and revolution around the sun is 17.24 hours and 84 earth years.
Uranus’ blue color is the result of absorption of red light by methane in the upper atmosphere.

Internal Structure of Uranus :

Uranus consists of a rocky core which is relatively small, with a mass of only 0.55 Earth masses.
Uranus's core density is around 9 g/cm³.
Above the core is an ice mantle,which is not in fact composed of ice in the conventional sense, but of a hot and dense fluid consisting of water, ammonia and other volatile.
Adjacent to the above layer, is an atmosphere of hydrogen, helium and methane.

Atmospheric Composition of Uranus:

Components Percentage Composition
hydrogen 83 ± 3
helium 15 ± 3
methane 2.3
hydrogen duteride 0.009
ammonia (ices)
water (ices)
ammonium hydrosulphide (ices)
methane (ices)